SFB 716 Dynamic simulation of systems with large particle numbers

In the special research field 716, researchers from various engineering and natural sciences as well as computer science work on comprehending current scientifically relevant phenomena in simulations on the computer. In doing so they focus on the particles of a system, for example on the individual atoms, molecules or grains of sand and calculate the path of each particle under the influence of its neighbour as well as the forces acting from the outside. Their aim is thereby to observe as high a number of particles as possible over a longer period.

Teilchenwolke
Clouds of particles of a simulated laser
ablation after approx. 40 picoseconds.
The red axis shows the actual invisible
laser beam.

The simulation of such complex multi-particle systems is still a great scientific challenge today from the viewpoint of computer science. In spite of the advances in computer technology, simulations as well as handling and visualising the results continue to reach the limits of that what is currently possible in view of computer performance, memory requirements and broadband.

Computer scientists are therefore developing together with experts from physics, biochemistry, mechanical engineering and process engineering new methods to scale the available computer performance, for example through new programming and modelling approaches as well as new memory and processing strategies. Furthermore, the use of parallel platforms such as graphic cards or many-core chips and new approaches on the efficient analysis of the complex data quantities are being researched.

More detailed information on SFB 716

SFB 716 Dynamische Simulation von Systemen mit großen Teilchenzahlen

Im Sonderforschungsbereich 716 arbeiten Forscher aus verschiedenen Ingenieur- und Naturwissenschaften sowie der Informatik daran, aktuelle wissenschaftlich relevante Phänomene in Simulationen am Computer nachzuvollziehen. Dazu richten sie ihren Blick auf die Teilchen eines Systems, etwa auf die einzelnen Atome, Moleküle oder Sandkörner, und berechnen den Weg eines jeden Teilchens unter dem Einfluss seiner Nachbarn sowie der von außen wirkenden Kräfte. Ihr Ziel ist es, dabei möglichst hohe Teilchenzahlen über einen langen Zeitraum zu betrachten.

Teilchenwolke
Teilchenwolken einer simulierten Laser-
ablation nach circa 40 Pikosekunden.
Die rote Achse zeigt den eigentlich
unsichtbaren Laserstrahl.

Die Simulation solch komplexer Vielteilchensysteme ist aus Sicht der Informatik auch heute noch eine große wissenschaftliche Herausforderung. Trotz der Fortschritte in der Computertechnik stoßen sowohl die Simulationen als auch die Handhabung und die Visualisierung der Ergebnisse weiterhin an die Grenzen dessen, was hinsichtlich Rechenleistung, Speicherbedarf und Bandbreite aktuell möglich ist.

Informatiker entwickeln daher gemeinsam mit Experten der Physik, der Biochemie, des Maschinenbaus und der Verfahrenstechnik neue Methoden zur Skalierung der verfügbaren Rechenleistung, etwa durch neue Programmier- und Modellierungsansätze sowie neue Speicher- und Verarbeitungsstrategien. Darüber hinaus werden der Einsatz paralleler Plattformen wie Graphikkarten oder Many-Core-Chips und neue Ansätze zur effizienten Analyse der komplexen Datenmengen erforscht.

Weiterführende Informationen zum SFB 716