Research fields in the Department of Computer Science

The Department of Computer Science covers the following research fields with its 8 institutes:

 

Research Field Algorithmics

Prof. Dr. Stefan Funke

Our research focuses on the development of algorithms that not only work “well” for typical input data from an application domain but for which we can also show certain properties (running time, quality of the outcome, ...) via rigorous mathematical proofs. Current research topics are algorithms in the context of route planning, E-mobility, self-localization, industrial packing problems, scheduling as well as text retrieval. Further information here.

Research Field Applications of Parallel and Distributed Systems

Prof. Dr. Bernhard Mitschang

The Department of Application Software sees its "traditional" area of work in the large field of database and information systems. Added to the classic topics such as data models, languages and optimisation are current research topics, for example data integration, data analysis and techniques of data warehousing as well as scalable data processing and data-intensive applications, for instance in technical application fields. Further information here.

Research Field Architecture of Application Systems

Prof. Dr. Frank Leymann

The research deals with the structure, the modelling and the runtime support of applications critical to companies. In so doing business process or service oriented approaches, their middleware and development tools are often in the foreground. Current research deals with cloud computing, management of distributed applications, sample languages, quality of service features and applications of the aforementioned technologies in various fields. Further information here.

Research Field Computational Linguistics

Jun.-Prof. Dr. Lonneke van der Plas

The junior professorship in Computational Linguistics, headed by Junior Professor Lonneke van der Plas, is located in the field of computational semantics. Among other things it deals with cross-lingual methods, whereby the lexical and structural variation between languages is used in order to automatically record predicate argument structures or the meaning of words. This information is used, for example, in order to extract terminology from texts or to optimise question-answer-systems or dialogue systems with semantic information, e.g. with synonyms or semantic roles. Further information here.

Research Field Data Engineering

Prof. Dr. Melanie Herschel

In the field of data engineering Prof. Herschel is particularly interested in data provenance, data integration, data cleaning (especially entity resolution), and data-centric workflow processing. The overarching goal of her research is to automatically prepare and engineer massive heterogeneous data for use in various real-life applications. Further information here.

Research Field Embedded Systems

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Martin Radetzki

The special field of embedded systems deals with architectures and design methods for hardware and software systems in technical applications. Research focal points are pursued in the fields of modelling and parallel simulation of embedded systems, the design of robust systems as well as the architecture of error-tolerant on-chip-connection networks. Further information here.

Research Field Experimental Phonetics

Prof. Dr. Grzegorz Dogil

The Chair of Experimental Phonetics is known for its technological research in the field of speech synthesis, for basic research on intonation (prosody) and syllable structure as well as for computational modeling and simulation of language perception and language production, in particular using exemplar-theoretical models. Moreover, the group also conducts research in the field of neurolinguistics, i.e. the anchoring of language knowledge in the brain. Further information here.

Research Field Interactive Graphics Systems

Prof. Dr. Thomas Ertl

Research and teaching focus on fundamental techniques and application aspects of computing systems which allow interaction with visual representations covering the fields of computer graphics, visualization, and human-computer interaction. Current research topics are the visual analysis of digital document collections, social media and movement data, cognitive processes in dealing with visualizations, the generation of complex visual inquiries as well as haptic interaction and representation techniques. Further information here.

Research Field Foundations of Computational Linguistics

Prof. Dr. Jonas Kuhn

Our research centers around the question: What are adequate formalisms for modeling the structural and semantic relationships between linguistic units. Particular emphasis is on the combination of statistical techniques for extracting knowledge from large data collections with linguistic know-how. In the area of "Digital Humanities", our group is actively involved in the transfer of research findings from computational linguistics to text analysis tasks in the humanities. Further information here.

Research Field Intelligent Systems

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Andrés Bruhn

Main research is performed in the fields of computer vision, image processing and scientific computing. Current research topics are the estimation of motion information from image and stereo sequences, the 3-D reconstruction from binocular and multiview data, the recovery of shape information from from shading, as well as the qualitative enhancement and compression of images and videos. From a methodical viewpoint global optimisation problems as well as their efficient numerical implementation are in the focus of our research. Further information here.

Research Field Machine Learning and Robotics

Prof. Dr. Marc Toussaint

Our research focusses on the combination of decision theory and machine learning, motivated by applications in robotics. The goal are learning systems that are able to reason about their own state of knowledge (e.g., in a Bayesian way) and decide which actions might yield the most informative future data, make them learn even better and eventually solve problems. We address this in the form of Reinforcement Learning, Planning and Active Learning in probabilistic relational domains. Further, a growing focus of our lab are real-world robotic systems, including trajectory optimization and optimal control methods. Further information here.

Research Field Human-Computer-Interaction

Prof. Dr. Albrecht Schmidt

In the special field of man-computer-interaction we research mobile, ubiquitous as well as linked and embedded sensor technologies and their interaction with the user. In current research projects, for example, the possibility of the cognitive improvement of human skills through technology, the potentials of a linked sensor technology in museums are investigated to design interactive exhibitions as well as requirements and best-practice-concepts for assistance systems for production processes that are based on movement recognition and projected images. Further information here.

Research Field Parallel Systems

Prof. Dr. Sven Simon

The focus of research is, on the one hand, parallel computer architecture on the basis of reconfigurable hardware and parallel processors (multi-core processors, graphics processing units), in particular for quick image-forming systems in the context of natural science and engineering applications. On the other hand, innovative design methods for high-performance hardware systems with Gbit/s data connections on the basis of image forming process are the objective of the research work. Further information here.

Research Field Programming Languages and Compilers

Prof. Dr. Erhard Plödereder

The focus of research is program analyses that serve the purpose of understanding program code, recognising and avoiding errors, and preserving the software architecture during maintenance. At present the research is geared towards the analysis of parallel software, above all towards the recognition of thread communication and possible synchronisation errors (data races), furthermore towards the migration of existing software systems onto multicore platforms. Further information here.

Research Field Computer Architecture

Prof. Dr. Hans-Joachim Wunderlich

The research field comprises hardware-related computer science with the focus on innovative computer structures, design automation methods and new technologies. Special emphasis is placed on the dependability of integrated systems, test and design for testability as well as fault tolerance. The current research topics include functional safety, adaptive and reconfigurable systems as well as on-chip-infrastructure for safety, debug and diagnosis. Further information here.

Research Field Computer-aided Product Development Systems

Univ-.Prof. Hon.-Prof. Dr. Dieter Roller

The working domain of the institute can be characterised briefly as follows: "Product modelling and information management in the engineering field". The focus of the research interest is modelling and evaluations of semantic information in technical processes. The research theme thereby concentrates essentially on computer applications, in particular on product development. Further information here.

Research Field Simulation of Large Systems

Prof. Dr. Miriam Mehl, Jun.-Prof. Dr. Dirk Pflüger

The department 'Simulation of Large Systems' deals with topics at the intersection of numerical mathematics and computer computing in order to enable high-resolution simulations in scientific computing on massively parallel systems. Application fields are fluid dynamics, coupled multiphysics problems, high-dimensional problems such as data mining, time series predictions and quantification of uncertainties. The methods range from efficient parallel multigrid solvers to octal tree-like computational grids, dynamic grid adaptivity, communication-minimizing and asynchronous iterative solvers, sparse grids and dynamic load balancing to reduced order modelling. Further information here.

Research Field Software Engineering

Prof. Dr. Stefan Wagner

Software engineering is the efficient and effective preparation and quality assurance of software systems. Our research therefore comprises developing and evaluating methods, tools and processes that support this. For this purpose we above all make use of the means of empiric research with a focus on software quality, software maintenance, requirements engineering and safety engineering. Further information here.

Research Field Theoretical Computer Linguistics

Prof. Dr. Sebastian Padó

This area deals with the meaning of linguistic units (words, sentences, etc.) and their formal representation, in order to explain phenomena such as word similarity/dissimilarity, inferences that speakers draw, etc. On the methodological level, the focus is on distributional semantics, which investigates meaning by studying usage contexts in written corpora and is supplemented by cognitive studies on human language processing. Further information here.

Research Field Theoretical Computer Science

Prof. Dr. Volker Diekert

The research belongs to the field of discreet mathematically oriented theoretical computer science. This includes the algebraic basics of parallel systems, the investigation of logic fragments through finite automata, semi-groups and topological features. Another focal point is the investigation of the elementary theory of free partial commutative structures. The current research topics also include questions of algorithmic and combinational group theory and references to the complexity theory. Further information here.

Research Field Distributed Systems

Prof. Dr. Kurt Rothermel

The emphasis of research lies in the fields of distributed systems, computer networks and mobile systems. Current research topics are scalable and highly available systems, adaption and evolution of systems, distributed processing of complex events (Complex Event Processing), privacy in mobile environments, protocols for sensor networks as well as software-defined system environments, in particular Software Defined Networking (SDN). Further information here.

Research Field Visual Computing

Jun.-Prof. Dr.-Ing. Martin Fuchs

The field of visual computing investigates the path of images from reality into the computer and back again. Towards this end, we apply methods of computational photography (how is it possible to record generalisations of flat images?), material measurement (how does the appearance of surfaces change with lighting?) and interactive systems that, for example, combine cameras and sources of light in an integrated setup. Further information here.

Research Field Visualization

Prof. Dr. Daniel Weiskopf

The research focus is scientific visualization, information visualization, and visual analytics. Current research topics are, among other things, the visualization of vector field and volume data, the representation of networks and hierarchies as well as visual analytics of video data. Typical fields of application are to be found, for example, in engineering sciences, physics, systems biology, and eye-tracking. Further information here.

Research Field Reliable Software Systems

N.N.

The focus of our research are probabilistic quality attributes such as, e.g. safety, security, availability, reliability and performance. It is thereby the objective of the research group to develop rigorous software engineering techniques and processes to predict, specify, evaluate, improve and certify such probabilistic quality attributes. Further information here.

Forschungsfelder am Fachbereich Informatik

Der Fachbereich Informatik deckt mit seinen 8 Instituten folgende Forschungsfelder ab:

 

Forschungsfeld Algorithmik

Prof. Dr. Stefan Funke

Der Schwerpunkt der Forschung liegt in der Entwicklung von Algorithmen, die nicht nur auf typischen Eingabedaten aus einer Anwendungsdomäne „gut“ funktionieren, sondern für welche bestimmte Eigenschaften (Laufzeit, Qualität des Ergebnisses, … ) auch mathematisch-rigoros bewiesen werden können. Aktuelle Forschungsthemen sind Algorithmen im Kontext von Routenplanung, E-Mobility, Selbstlokalisierung, industrieller Schnittminimierung, Scheduling sowie Text-Retrieval. Weitere Informationen hier.

Forschungsfeld Anwendungssysteme

Prof. Dr. Bernhard Mitschang

Die Abteilung Anwendersoftware sieht ihr "traditionelles" Arbeitsgebiet in dem großen Bereich der Datenbank- und Informationssysteme. Ergänzend zu den klassischen Themen wie Datenmodelle, Sprachen und Optimierung kommen an aktuellen Forschungsthemen hinzu beispielsweise Datenintegration, Datenanalyse und Techniken des Data Warehousing sowie skalierbare Datenverarbeitung und datenintensive Applikationen, etwa in technischen Anwendungsbereichen. Weitere Informationen hier.

Forschungsfeld Architektur von Anwendungssystemen

Prof. Dr. Frank Leymann

Die Forschungen befassen sich mit der Struktur, der Modellierung und der Laufzeitunterstützung unternehmenskritischer Anwendungen. Hierbei stehen oft geschäftsprozess- oder dienstorientierte Ansätze, deren Middleware und Entwicklungswerkzeuge im Vordergrund. Aktuelle Forschungen befassen sich mit Cloud Computing, Management verteilter Anwendungen, Mustersprachen, Dienstgüteeigenschaften und Anwendungen der zuvor genannten Technologien in unterschiedlichsten Bereichen. Weitere Informationen hier.

Forschungsfeld Computerlinguistik

Jun.-Prof. Dr. Lonneke van der Plas

Die Juniorprofessur Computerlinguistik, geleitet von Jun.-Prof. Lonneke van der Plas, ist im Bereich der komputationellen Semantik angesiedelt. Sie beschäftigt sich u.a. mit sprachübergreifenden Methoden, wobei sie die lexikalische und strukturelle Variation zwischen Sprachen verwendet, um Prädikats-Argumentstrukturen oder die Bedeutung von Wörtern automatisch zu erfassen. Diese Informationen werden z. B. eingesetzt, um Terminologie aus Texten zu extrahieren oder um Frage-Antwort-Systeme oder Dialogsysteme mit semantischer Information, z. B. mit Synonymen oder semantischen Rollen, zu optimieren. Weitere Informationen hier.

Forschungsfeld Data Engineering

Prof. Dr. Melanie Herschel

Im Forschungsgebiet Data Engineering befasst sich Prof. Herschel vor allem mit der Herkunft von diversen Daten, der Datenintegration, der Bereinigung von Daten (im besonderen mit der Auflösung von Entitäten) und mit daten-zentrierten Arbeitsabläufen. Ziel ihrer Forschung ist es zu erreichen, dass große Mengen heterogener Daten für ihre Verwendung in diversen alltäglichen Anwendungen automatisch vorbereitet und prozessiert werden können. Weitere Informationen hier.

Forschungsfeld Eingebettete Systeme

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Martin Radetzki

Das Fachgebiet Eingebettete Systeme befasst sich mit Architekturen und Entwurfsmethoden für Hardware-Software-Systeme in technischen Anwendungen. Forschungsschwerpunkte werden auf den Gebieten der Modellierung und parallelen Simulation eingebetteter Systeme, des Entwurfs robuster Systeme sowie der Architektur fehlertoleranter On-Chip-Verbindungsnetzwerke verfolgt. Weitere Informationen hier.

Forschungsfeld Experimentelle Phonetik

Prof. Dr. Grzegorz Dogil

Der Lehrstuhl Experimentelle Phonetik ist für seine technologische Forschung im Bereich Sprachsynthese bekannt, für Grundlagenforschung zu Sprachmelodie (Prosodie) und Silbenstruktur sowie für die Erstellung und Verwendung von komputationellen Modellen der Sprachwahrnehmung und der Sprachproduktion, insbesondere zu exemplartheoretischen Modellen. Darüber hinaus betreibt der Lehrstuhl Dogil aber auch Forschungen im Bereich der Neurophonetik, also der Verankerung von sprachlichem Wissen im Gehirn. Weitere Informationen hier.

Forschungsfeld Graphisch-Interaktive Systeme

Prof. Dr. Thomas Ertl

Forschung und Lehre dieser Abteilung widmen sich den Grundlagenfragen und Anwendungsaspekten von Computersystemen, die Interaktion mit graphischen Darstellungen erlauben, und überdecken damit die Bereiche Computergraphik, Visualisierung und Mensch-Computer-Interaktion. Aktuelle Forschungsthemen sind die visuelle Analyse von digitalen Dokumentsammlungen, sozialen Medien und Bewegungsdaten, kognitive Prozesse beim Umgang mit Visualisierungen, die Erstellung komplexer graphischer Abfragen und haptische Interaktions- und Darstellungstechniken. Weitere Informationen hier.

Forschungsfeld Grundlagen der Computerlinguistik

Prof. Dr. Jonas Kuhn

Der Lehrstuhl für Grundlagen der Computerlinguistik widmet sich der Frage, mit welchen Formalismen sich die strukturellen und inhaltlichen Beziehungen zwischen linguistischen Einheiten modellieren lassen. Besonderes Augenmerk liegt dabei auf der Kombination von statistischen Techniken zur Extraktion von Wissen aus großen Datenmengen und linguistischem Knowhow. Im Umfeld "Digital Humanities" ist der Lehrstuhl aktiv an der Umsetzung des computerlinguistischen Forschungswissens in der textwissenschaftlichen Praxis beteiligt. Weitere Informationen hier.

Forschungsfeld Intelligente Systeme

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Andrés Bruhn

Forschungsschwerpunkte liegen im Bereich Computer Vision, Bildverarbeitung und Scientific Computing. Aktuelle Forschungsthemen sind die Bewegungsberechnung aus Einzel- und Stereobildfolgen, die 3D-Rekonstruktion im Zwei- und Mehrbildfall, die Oberflächenschätzung aus Beleuchtungsinformation sowie die Aufbereitung und Kompression von Bild- und Videodaten. Aus methodischer Sicht stehen globale Optimierungsverfahren sowie deren effiziente numerische Umsetzung im Mittelpunkt. Weitere Informationen hier.

Forschungsfeld Maschinelles Lernen und Robotik

Prof. Dr. Marc Toussaint

Unsere Forschung liegt im Bereich der Entscheidungstheorie und des Maschinellen Lernens, mit Anwendungsschwerpunkt in der Robotik. Insbesondere interessieren uns probabilistische Lernansätze, die Unsicherheit (Bayesianisch) quantifizieren, und Entscheidungen, die Informationsgewinn und Lernfortschritt maximieren. Spezialgebiete sind u.a. das Reinforcement Learning, Planung in relationalen Modellen, aktives Lernen, Optimierungsmethoden und optimale Regelung in der Robotik. Weitere Informationen hier.

Forschungsfeld Mensch-Computer-Interaktion

Prof. Dr. Albrecht Schmidt

Im Fachgebiet Mensch-Computer-Interaktion erforschen wir mobile, ubiquitäre sowie vernetzte und eingebettete Sensortechnologien und deren Interaktion mit dem Nutzer. In aktuellen Forschungsprojekten werden beispielsweise die Möglichkeit zur kognitiven Verbesserung menschlicher Fähigkeiten durch Technologie, die Potenziale einer vernetzen Sensorik in Museen zur Gestaltung interaktiver Ausstellungen sowie Anforderungen und Best-Practice-Konzepte für Assistenzsysteme für Produktionsprozesse untersucht, die auf Bewegungserkennung und Projektionen beruhen. Weitere Informationen hier.

Forschungsfeld Parallele Systeme

Prof. Dr. Sven Simon

Schwerpunkt der Forschung sind zum einen parallele Rechnerarchitekturen auf der Basis rekonfigurierbarer Hardware und paralleler Prozessoren (Multi-Core Prozessoren, Graphics Processing Units), insbesondere für schnelle bildgebende Systeme im Kontext natur- und ingenieurwissenschaftlicher Anwendungen. Zum anderen sind neuartige Entwurfsmethoden für hochperformante Hardware-Systeme mit Gbit/s-Datenverbindungen auf Basis bildgebender Verfahren Gegenstand der Forschungsarbeiten. Weitere Informationen hier.

Forschungsfeld Programmiersprachen und Übersetzerbau

Prof. Dr. Erhard Plödereder

Schwerpunkt der Forschung sind Programmanalysen, die dem Programmverstehen, der Fehlererkennung und Fehlervermeidung sowie dem Erhalt der Software-Architektur in der Wartung dienen. Aktuell ist die Forschung auf die Analysen nebenläufiger Software ausgerichtet, vor allem auf das vorausschauende Erkennen von Kommunikation und dabei möglichen Synchronisationsfehlern (Data Races), ferner auf die Migration existierender Softwaresysteme auf Multicore-Plattformen. Weitere Informationen hier.

Forschungsfeld Rechnerarchitektur

Prof. Dr. Hans-Joachim Wunderlich

Das Forschungsgebiet umfasst die hardwarenahe Informatik mit Schwerpunkt auf innovativen Rechnerstrukturen, automatisierten Entwurfsmethoden und neuen Technologien. Insbesondere werden die Zuverlässigkeit integrierter Systeme, Test und prüfgerechter Entwurf sowie Fehlertoleranzverfahren behandelt. Zu den aktuellen Forschungsthemen gehören funktionale Sicherheit, adaptive und rekonfigurierbare Systeme sowie On-Chip-Infrastruktur für Sicherheit, Debug und Diagnose. Weitere Informationen hier.

Forschungsfeld Rechnergestützte Ingenieursysteme

Univ-.Prof. Hon.-Prof. Dr. Dieter Roller

Das Arbeitsgebiet des Instituts lässt sich kurz wie folgt charakterisieren: "Produktmodellierung und Informationsmanagement im Ingenieurbereich". Im Mittelpunkt des Forschungsinteresses stehen Modellierungen und Auswertungen von semantischen Informationen in technischen Prozessen. Die Forschungsthematik konzentriert sich dabei im Wesentlichen auf Computeranwendungen, insbesondere in der Produktentwicklung. Weitere Informationen hier.

Forschungsfeld Simulation großer Systeme

Prof. Dr. Miriam Mehl, Jun.-Prof. Dr. Dirk Pflüger

Die Abteilung 'Simulation großer Systeme' forscht an Fragestellungen im Grenzbereich zwischen Numerischer Mathematik und Informatik, um hochaufgelöste Anwendungen des Wissenschaftlichen Rechnens auf massiv parallelen Systemen zu ermöglichen. Anwendungsfelder sind dabei Fluiddynamik, gekoppelte Mehrphysikprobleme, hochdimensionale Probleme wie Datamining, Zeitreihenvorhersagen und Quantifizierung von Unsicherheiten. Die Methoden reichen von effizienten parallelen Mehrgitterlösern über oktalbaumähnliche Rechengitter, dynamische Gitteradaptivität, kommunikationsreduzierende und asynchrone iterative Löser, dünne Gitter und dynamische Lastbalancierung bis zu Reduced Order Modellierung. Weitere Informationen hier.

Forschungsfeld Software Engineering

Prof. Dr. Stefan Wagner

Software Engineering ist die effiziente und effektive Erstellung und Qualitätssicherung von Software-Systemen. Unsere Forschung besteht also darin, Methoden, Werkzeuge und Prozesse zu entwickeln und zu evaluieren, die das unterstützen. Wir bedienen uns hierzu vor allem der Mittel der empirischen Forschung mit einem Fokus auf Software-Qualität, Software-Wartung, Requirements Engineering und Safety Engineering. Weitere Informationen hier.

Forschungsfeld Theoretische Computerlinguistik

Prof. Dr. Sebastian Padó

Das Fachgebiet befasst sich mit der Bedeutung sprachlicher Einheiten wie Wörtern und Sätzen und deren formaler Repräsentation, um z.B. Ähnlichkeitsbeziehungen oder Schlussfolgerungen zu erklären. Methodisch liegt der Schwerpunkt auf der distributionellen Semantik, die Bedeutung durch Verwendungskontexte charakterisiert. Sie erlaubt es, Bedeutung durch statistische Analyse von Sprachdaten zu modellieren, und wird durch kognitive Studien zur menschlichen Sprachverarbeitung ergänzt. Weitere Informationen hier.

Forschungsfeld Theoretische Informatik

Prof. Dr. Volker Diekert

Die Forschungen gehören zum Bereich der diskreten mathematisch orientierten Theoretischen Informatik. Hierzu gehören die algebraischen Grundlagen nebenläufiger Systeme, die Untersuchung von Logikfragmenten durch endliche Automaten, Halbgruppen und topologische Eigenschaften. Ein weiterer Schwerpunkt ist die Untersuchung der elementaren Theorie von frei partiell kommutativen Strukturen. Zu den aktuellen Forschungsthemen gehören auch Fragen der algorithmischen und kombinatorischen Gruppentheorie und Bezüge zur Komplexitätstheorie. Weitere Informationen hier.

Forschungsfeld Verteilte Systeme

Prof. Dr. Kurt Rothermel

Das Hauptaugenmerk der Forschung liegt auf den Gebieten der Verteilten Systeme, Rechnernetze und Mobilen Systeme. Aktuelle Forschungsthemen sind skalierbare und hochverfügbare Systeme, Adaption und Evolution von Systemen, verteilte Verarbeitung komplexer Ereignisse (Complex Event Processing), Datenschutz in mobilen Umgebungen, Protokolle für Sensornetze sowie Software-definierte Systemumgebungen, insbesondere Software Defined Networking (SDN). Weitere Informationen hier.

Forschungsfeld Visual Computing

Jun.-Prof. Dr.-Ing. Martin Fuchs

Im Fachgebiet Visual Computing untersuchen wir den Weg der Bilder von der Realität in den Rechner und wieder zurück. Dazu verwenden wir Methoden des Computational Photography (wie kann man Verallgemeinerungen von flachen Bildern aufnehmen?), Materialmessung (wie ändert sich das Aussehen von Oberflächen mit der Beleuchtung?) und interaktive Systeme, die z.B. Kameras und Lichtquellen in einem Aufbau kombinieren. Weitere Informationen hier.

Forschungsfeld Visualisierung

Prof. Dr. Daniel Weiskopf

Die Forschungsschwerpunkte sind die wissenschaftliche Visualisierung, die Informationsvisualisierung und die visuelle Analytik. Aktuelle Forschungsthemen sind unter anderem die Visualisierung von Vektorfeld- und Volumendaten, die Darstellung von Netzwerken und Hierarchien sowie die visuelle Analytik von Videodaten. Typische Anwendungsgebiete sind beispielsweise in den Ingenieurwissenschaften, der Physik, der Systembiologie und dem Eye-Tracking zu finden. Weitere Informationen hier.

Forschungsfeld Zuverlässige Softwaresysteme

N.N.

In der Forschung des Fachgebietes Zuverlässige Softwaresysteme stehen speziell probabilistische nicht-funktionale Qualitäts- und Systemeigenschaften wie z.B. Sicherheit, Verfügbarkeit, Zuverlässigkeit und Performanz im Mittelpunkt. Dabei ist es Ziel der Forschung, Techniken und Verfahren zur Vorhersage, Spezifizierung, Bewertung, Verbesserung und Zertifizierung von solchen probabilistischen Qualitätseigenschaften zu erstellen. Dadurch wird langfristig die ingenieurmäßige Software-Entwicklung vorangetrieben. Weitere Informationen hier.