Graduate School GSaME

GSaME Logo

The Graduate School for advanced Manufacturing Engineering, in brief GSaME, is a facility created in the framework of the Excellence Initiative, offering postgraduates the opportunity to do their doctorates in an innovative and interdisciplinary environment. GSaME derived from a cooperation of 31 professors from 18 institutes, also included various institutes from the Department of Computer Science.

The objective is, on the one hand, to create a cross-faculty postgraduate study program that offers an interdisciplinary education that is oriented towards the current challenges of a global market and work environment. On the other hand, synergies on scientific further development of the manufacturing engineering are to be used in this cooperative, cross-faculty research climate.

Factories of the next generation

GSaME is a central facility of the university with its own self-administration, administration regulations and management structures. The scientific education expresses the autonomy through the right to do a postgraduate, an individual selection process and the postgraduate program especially developed for GSaME.

The paradigm of the aME (advanced Manufacturing Engineering) for “Factories of the next generation” is the core of the education concept. For this purpose existing technologies but also new inno¬vative approaches are to be developed further in a scientific and practical way.

Besides the theoretical training, sound practical knowledge is also to be acquired in the GSaME. For this purpose theoretical blocks are exchanged with practical application phases based on universities of applied science and universities of cooperative education. This tried and tested dual scientific education system is not only intended to provide the opportunity of creating own research work but also of promoting an orientation towards industrial applicability.

National and international cooperation partners from industry and research round off the spectrum of the training offer at GSaME.

Five main elements are characteristic for the Graduate School GSaME:

  1. Thematically tailored lectures and seminars
  2. The learning factory for aME as an innovative training, research and test environment for research tasks with physical and digital tools
  3. The research projects in a collaborative supervision and mentoring environment
  4. Best-Practice-Industrial internships
  5. International orientation for a high added value

You can find much more detailed information on the Graduate School at the Website of GSaME.

Graduiertenschule GSaME

GSaME Logo

Die Graduiertenschule für advanced Manufacturing Engineering, kurz GSaME, ist eine im Rahmen der Exzellenzinitiative geschaffene Einrichtung, die Postgraduierten die Möglichkeit zur Promotion in einem innovativen und interdisziplinären Umfeld bietet. Hervorgegangen ist die GSaME aus einer Kooperation von 31 Professoren aus 18 Instituten, darunter auch verschiedene Institute des Fachbereichs Informatik.

Ziel ist es, einerseits einen fakultätsübergreifenden Promotionsstudiengang zu schaffen, der eine interdisziplinäre Ausbildung bietet, die an den aktuellen Herausforderungen eines globalen Markt- und Arbeitsumfeldes orientiert ist. Andererseits sollen in diesem kooperativen, fachübergreifenden Forschungsklima Synergien zur wissenschaftlichen Weiterentwicklung des Manufacturing Engineering genutzt werden.

Fabriken der nächsten Generation

GSaME ist eine zentrale Einrichtung der Universität mit eigener Selbstverwaltung, Verwaltungsordnung und Leitungsstrukturen. Bei der wissenschaftlichen Ausbildung drückt sich die Selbständigkeit durch das Recht auf Promotion, ein individuelles Auswahlverfahren und das speziell für die GSaME entwickelte Promotionsprogramm aus.

Den Kern des Ausbildungskonzeptes bildet das Paradigma des aME (advanced Manufacturing Engineering) für »Fabriken der nächsten Generation«. Dazu sollen bestehende Technologien, aber auch neue inno­vative Ansätze wissenschaftlich und praktisch weiterentwickelt werden.

Neben der theoretischen Ausbildung sollen in der GSaME auch fundierte Praxiskenntnisse erworben werden. Dazu wechseln sich in Anlehnung an Fachhochschulen und Berufsakademien theoretische Blöcke mit praktischen Anwendungsphasen ab. Dieses bewährte duale wissenschaftliche Ausbil­dungs­system soll nicht nur die Möglichkeit zur Erstellung eigener Forschungsarbeiten geben, sondern auch die Orientierung an der industriellen Anwendbarkeit fördern.

Nationale und internationale Kooperationspartner aus Industrie und Forschung runden das Spektrum des Ausbildungsangebotes an der GSaME ab.

Fünf Hauptelemente sind kennzeichnend für die Graduiertenschule GSaME:

  1. Thematisch zugeschnittene Vorlesungen und Seminare
  2. Die Lernfabrik für aME als eine innovative Ausbildungs-, Forschungs- und Testumgebung für Forschungsaufgaben mit physischen und digitalen Werkzeugen
  3. Die Forschungsprojekte in einem kollaborativen Supervisions- und Mentoring-Umfeld
  4. Best-Practice-Industriepraktika
  5. Internationale Orientierung für einen hohen Mehrwert

Viele weiterführende Informationen zur Graduiertenschule finden Sie auf der Website von GSaME.