Research

The research focus of computer science plays a central role in contributing towards the success of the University of Stuttgart as a research university. The total of 8 computer science institutes are characterised by great research intensity and an excellent success rate in the acquisition of funds on an EU, Federal and State level.

Computer science covers a broad spectrum of research fields and supports the technological advancement and innovations through an intense exchange with society, industry and businesses.

» Research focus
» Research fields

Top research in computer science

In the current funding ranking of the German Research Association (funding atlas 2012) Stuttgart computer science was consistently given top marks. With a total funding volume of 11.8 million € from DFG (without excellence initiative) in the years 2008-2010, Stuttgart computer science even occupies the first place among all German universities.

Technology partnerships

Our research frequently relies on the intensive exchange with development-intensive partners from business. IBM is an example of this with whom we have worked together successfully in the framework of the Technology Partnership Lab.

In the framework of the Excellence Initiative by the federal government two projects – the Excellence Cluster SimTech and the Graduate School GSaME – were awarded.

Computer science played a decisive role in both projects. In the Excellence Cluster Simulation Technology (SimTech) the development of methods, techniques and IT support for simulations is being researched on an interdisciplinary level in order to integrate simulation approaches and IT infrastructures, isolated until now, and consequently to develop a holistic system.

In the Graduate School Advanced Manufacturing Engineering (GSaME) factories of the next generation are researched and young postgraduates are trained for the challenges resulting from this in an interdisciplinary environment.

At present Stuttgart Computer Science is substantially involved in two special research fields. The special research field 716 Dynamic Simulation of Systems with large particle numbers researches methods to scale simulations that form an important basis in order to answer complex questions from nature and technology quickly and at favourable prices.

Furthermore scientists of the Special research field 732 "Incremental Specification in Context" research with ambiguities in human language. Its solution is of central significance in the interaction between man and machine.

In the DFG priority program 1527 Autonomous Learning scientists from several universities cooperate together. The objective is to improve the autonomy and learning ability of systems so that they can largely make decisions without human experts. The priority program is being coordinated by Prof. Marc Toussaint (IPVS). Members of the faculty are involved in other priority programs of DFG.

Forschung

Die Forschungsschwerpunkte der Informatik tragen zentral zum Erfolg der Universität Stuttgart als Forschungsuniversität bei. Die insgesamt 8 Institute der Informatik zeichnen sich durch eine große Forschungsintensität und eine hervorragende Erfolgsquote bei der Akquise von Fördermitteln auf EU-, Bundes- und Landesebene aus.

Die Informatik deckt ein breites Spektrum an Forschungsfeldern ab und fördert durch intensiven Austausch mit Gesellschaft, Industrie und Wirtschaftsunternehmen den technologischen Fortschritt und Innovationen.

» Forschungsschwerpunkte
» Forschungsfeldern

Spitzenforschung in der Informatik

Im aktuellen Förderranking der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft (Förderatlas 2012) erhielt die Stuttgarter Informatik durchweg Bestnoten. Mit dem Gesamtfördervolumen von 11,8 Mio. € der DFG (ohne Exzellenzinitiative) in den Jahren 2008-2010 belegt die Stuttgarter Informatik gar den ersten Platz unter allen deutschen Hochschulen.

Technologiepartnerschaften

Unsere Forschung setzt häufig auf den intensiven Austausch mit entwicklungsintensiven Partnern aus der Wirtschaft. Beispielhaft sei hier die IBM genannt, mit der wir erfolgreich im Rahmen des Technology Partnership Lab zusammenarbeiten.

Im Rahmen der Exzellenzinitiative der Bundesregierung wurden zwei Projekte vergeben, in denen die Informatik maßgeblich beteiligt ist:

Im Exzellenz­cluster SimTech wird interdisziplinär an Methoden, Techniken und IT-Unterstützung für Simulationen geforscht, um bis dato isolierte Simulationsansätze und IT-Infrastrukturen zu integrieren und somit eine ganzheitliche Systemwissenschaft zu entwickeln.

In der Graduiertenschule GSaME werden Fabriken der nächsten Generation erforscht und postgraduierter Nachwuchs für die sich daraus ergebenen Herausforderungen in einem interdisziplinären Umfeld ausgebildet.

Derzeit ist die Stuttgarter Informatik an zwei Sonderforschungsbereichen substantiell beteiligt:

Der SFB 716 "Dynamische Simulation von Systemen mit großen Teilchenzahlen" erforscht Methoden zur Skalierung von Simulationen, die eine wichtige Grundlage bilden, um komplexe Fragestellungen aus Natur und Technik schnell und kostengünstig zu beantworten. Ferner wird im SFB 732 "Inkrementelle Spezifikation im Kontext" der Umgang mit Mehrdeutigkeiten der menschlichen Sprache erforscht. Deren Auflösung ist von zentraler Bedeutung in der Interaktion zwischen Mensch und Maschine.

Im DFG Schwerpunktprogramms 1527 "Autonomes Lernen" kooperieren Wissenschaftler mehrerer Universitäten. Ihr Ziel ist es, die Eigenständigkeit und Lernfähigkeit von Systemen zu verbessern, so dass sie weitgehend ohne menschlichen Experten Entscheidungen treffen können. Das Programm wird von Prof. Marc Toussaint (IPVS) koordiniert.

Mitglieder des Fachbereichs sind noch an weiteren Schwerpunktprogrammen der DFG beteiligt.