Research focus of the department

In research the Department of Computer Science broadly covers the subjects of computer science and computer linguistics. With 24 professors and 5 junior professors in the department the following specialist fields of competence comprising nine can be identified:

  1. Communication and mobility: Digital communication and enabling mobility in an as unrestricted way as possible count among the key factors for developing a modern society. The research deals with the communication systems as well as with mastering complex distributed, mobile and ubiquitous systems. This is supplemented by competences in the field of the mobility of applications and data as well as continuous design techniques from the concept level to the algorithmic and architecture level up to the realisation in software and hardware.

  2. Reliable and fault-tolerant systems: an increasing number of areas of society are based on computer applications functioning reliably, applications that also decide in matters of life, health and wealth in critical security systems. The reliable operation of complex technical systems, for example in the automotive sector, also depends on the interaction of their computer parts and their realization in hardware and software, for which computer science provides the essential findings. The department develops holistic and systematic methods for correct, reliable and fault-tolerant systems in close interdisciplinary cooperation with all branches of computer science, automation technology up to the engineering sciences.

  3. Simulation Technology: Numeric simulation is a strong interdisciplinary special field that is increasingly penetrating the natural and engineering sciences and that is gaining entry into many fields of everyday life. In order to realize the ubiquity of simulations in future, it is necessary to provide more robust methods and tools and to implement these in an easy to handle form. The contributions of computer science here lie, e.g. in the field of the development of efficient and highly parallel simulation algorithms as well as the relevant software environments, in particular data management, simulation middleware, interactive data analysis and visualization.

  4. Autonomous and interactive systems: the spectrum of this field ranges from interacting robots to autonomous controls of vehicles up to linked interactive systems. Particular challenges are (i) the perception of situations and the environment through sensors, in particular through methods of computer vision, (ii) embodied intelligence and learning behaviour, (iii) the representation of complex information as well as (iv) a natural interaction between intelligent systems with man. The multimedial presentation of the contents, the interactive computer graphics and the visualisation of large data quantities thereby play an important role. Natural and intuitive forms of man-computer-interaction are opened up through multimodal interfaces.

  5. Complex information system: the efficient and intelligent dealing with heterogeneous information is essential for developing and operating modern applications. Information originates from a broad spectrum of sources, like operational databases, sensors and the Internet. Basic methods of information integration, search and provision are necessary in order to make the required information available in the right form, at any time and any place. Using modern methods of metadata management and knowledge processing together with flexible virtualisation techniques as well as process and service-oriented concepts, it then becomes possible to orchestrate complex information systems that are particularly in demand in the interdisciplinary research fields of GSaME and SimTech.

  6. Language and knowledge processing: the automatic processing of human language uses methods of computer science, linguistics, mathematics and signal processing in order to enable linguistic man-machine communication and the access to information and knowledge in ever increasing electronic data and text collections – in particular in the fields of language synthesis, (semi)-automatic resource creation, parsing, semantic processing, static language processing, information extraction and retrieval. Based on this it is necessary to provide effective methods of metadata-management, knowledge extraction, structuring (ontologies) and processing in order to establish a model-based system and application development.

Forschungsschwerpunkte des Fachbereichs

In der Forschung bietet der Fachbereich Informatik eine breite Abdeckung der Fächer Informatik und Computerlinguistik. Bei 24 Professuren und 5 Juniorprofessuren des Fachbereichs lassen sich die folgenden neun umfassenden fachlichen Kompetenzfelder identifizieren:

  1. Kommunikation und Mobilität: Für die Entwicklung einer modernen Gesellschaft zählen die digitale Kommunikation und die Ermöglichung von weitestgehend uneingeschränkter Mobilität zu den Schlüsselfaktoren. Die Forschung befasst sich mit Kommunikationssystemen sowie mit der Beherrschung komplexer verteilter, mobiler und ubiquitärer Systeme. Dies wird ergänzt durch Kompetenzen im Bereich der Mobilität von Anwendungen und Daten sowie durchgängiger Entwurfstechniken von der Konzeptebene über die algorithmische und Architekturebene bis hin zur Realisierung in Soft- und Hardware.
     
  2. Zuverlässige und fehlertolerante Systeme: Immer größere Bereiche der Gesellschaft beruhen auf dem zuverlässigen Funktionieren informationstechnischer Anwendungen, die in sicherheitskritischen Systemen auch über Leben, Gesundheit und Wohlstand entscheiden. Der zuverlässige Betrieb komplexer technischer Systeme, beispielsweise im Automobilbereich, hängt unter anderem vom Zusammenspiel ihrer informationstechnischen Teile und deren Realisierung in Hard- und Software ab, für die Informatik, Elektrotechnik und Informationstechnik die wesentlichen Erkenntnisse bereitstellen. Die Fakultät erarbeitet ganzheitliche und systematische Methoden für korrekte, zuverlässige und fehlertolerante Systeme in enger interdisziplinärer Kooperation aller Zweige der Informatik, der Automatisierungstechnik, bis hin zu den Ingenieurwissenschaften.
     
  3. Simulation Technology: Die numerische Simulation ist ein stark interdisziplinäres Fachgebiet, das Natur- und Ingenieurwissenschaften mehr und mehr durchdringt und in viele weitere Bereiche des täglichen Lebens Einzug erhält. Um die Ubiquität von Simulationen in Zukunft zu realisieren, ist es notwendig, robustere Methoden und Werkzeuge bereitzustellen und diese in leicht bedienbarer Form umzusetzen. Die Beiträge der Informatik liegen hier z. B. im Bereich der Entwicklung effizienter und hochparalleler Simulationsalgorithmen sowie der entsprechenden Softwareumgebungen, insbesondere zum Daten- und Berechnungsmanagement und zur interaktiven Datenanalyse und -visualisierung.
     
  4. Autonome und interaktive Systeme: Das Spektrum dieses Gebiets reicht von interagierenden Robotern über autonome Steuerungen von Fahrzeugen bis hin zu vernetzten interaktiven Systemen. Besondere Herausforderungen sind (i) die Wahrnehmung von Situationen und der Umgebung durch Sensoren, insbesondere durch Methoden der Computer Vision, (ii) verkörperte Intelligenz und das Lernen von Verhalten, (iii) die Darstellung komplexer Informationen sowie (iv) eine natürliche Interaktion intelligenter Systeme mit dem Menschen. Dabei spielt die multimediale Präsentation der Inhalte, die interaktive Computergraphik und die Visualisierung großer Datenmengen eine wichtige Rolle. Natürliche und intuitive Formen der Mensch-Computer-Interaktion werden durch multimodale Schnittstellen eröffnet.
     
  5. Komplexe Informationssysteme: Der effiziente und intelligente Umgang mit hetero­genen Informationen ist wesentlich für Erstellung und Betrieb moderner Anwendungen. Informationen stammen aus einem weiten Spektrum an Quellen, wie operationalen Datenbanken, Sensoren und dem Internet. Basismethoden der Informationsintegration, -suche und -bereitstellung sind notwendig, um die benötigte Information in der richtigen Form, am rechten Ort und zur rechten Zeit zur Verfügung zu stellen. Mittels moderner Methoden des Metadatenmanagements und der Wissensverarbeitung zusammen mit flexiblen Virtualisierungstechniken sowie prozess- und servicebasierten Konzepten wird es dann möglich, komplexe Informationssysteme zu orchestrieren, die insbesondere in den interdisziplinären Forschungsbereichen von GSaME und SimTech gefragt sind.
     
  6. Sprach- und Wissensverarbeitung: Die automatische Verarbeitung menschlicher Sprache verwendet Methoden der Informatik, der Linguistik, der Mathematik und der Signalverarbeitung, um die sprachliche Mensch-System-Kommunikation und den Zugang zu Information und Wissen in immer größer werdenden elektronischen Daten- und Textsammlungen zu ermöglichen - insbesondere in den Bereichen Sprachsynthese, (semi)automatische Ressourcenerstellung, Parsing, semantische Verarbeitung, statistische Sprachverarbeitung, Informationsextraktion und Retrieval. Darauf aufbauend ist es notwendig, effektive Methoden des Metadaten-Managements, der Wissensextraktion, -strukturierung (Ontologien) und -verarbeitung bereitzustellen, um eine modellbasierte System- und Anwendungsentwicklung zu etablieren.