Master’s degree programs

With your Bachelor title you have acquired an initial degree entitling you to embark on a career. The Department of Computer Science and Software Engineering, however, offers the opportunity to subsequently do a Master’s degree and to expand, deepen and strengthen your knowledge and your skills. With your "Master of Science" degree, all doors in industry as well as in research will then be open to you.

The Department of Computer Science and Software Engineering offers different Master’s degree programs. Within four semesters time you will learn to independently process scientific questions from your Master’s subject with the pertinent methods, to develop solutions and to apply your knowledge to complex situations. Master’s degree programs frequently offer scope for development when organising your curriculum. Moreover, you will have the opportunity to study one semester abroad.

We offer the following Master’s degree programs:

This Master’s degree program offers you many different profiles, from which you have to choose two. The proposed profiles comprise e.g. databases, information systems, application or computer architecture, intelligent or parallel systems, language processing, theoretical computer science or visualisation. In these subjects you will then be given a very research-oriented education that can be supplemented with various elective modules.

As in the Bachelor’s degree program, the constructive aspect and the practical sides of computer science continuously receive an emphasis in the Master’s degree. Teamwork and the practical application of what has been learnt are promoted in particular through a process analysis and a development project. This prepares graduates directly and comprehensively for a profession in software development and software processing. Through the scope for development in the selected profile and in the elective subjects, own focal points from computer science can be set depending on the student’s interest.

The Master’s degree program in Computer Science is one of our study programs taught in English. The contents are based on the Master’s degree program in Computer Science taught in German, but because of the English language this study program is especially interesting for international students. The program offers three profiles: Autonomous Systems, Service Technology and Engineering as well as Visual Computing. Within these fields compulsory and elective lectures are offered that clearly extend the basics of a Bachelor and prepare the students for the requirements in industry as well as in research.

This English Master’s degree is based on the Bachelor’s degree in Natural Language Processing and deepens the knowledge of the subject. The students deal with the structure of natural languages from a syntactic, semantic, morphological and phonetic point of view and try to use the knowledge gained to develop new problem solving strategies in the field of language processing.

This program is taught in English and is a hybrid. It is jointly offered by both departments from the Faculty 5, the department of Electrical Engineering and Information Technology and the department of Computer Science and Software Engineering. In contrast to the Master’s degree program in Computer Science, importance is attached here to the combination of electrotechnical and computer science knowledge.

You can find information on our Bachelor’s degree programs here.

Masterstudiengänge

Mit dem Bachelor-Titel haben Sie einen ersten, berufsbefähigenden Abschluss erworben. Der Fachbereich Informatik und Softwaretechnik bietet Ihnen jedoch die Möglichkeit, daran anschließend einen Masterstudiengang zu besuchen, um Ihr Wissen und Ihre Fähigkeiten zu erweitern, zu vertiefen und zu festigen. Mit dem Abschluss "Master of Science" stehen Ihnen dann sowohl in der Industrie als auch in der Forschung alle Türen offen.

Der Fachbereich Informatik und Softwaretechnik bietet verschiedene Masterstudiengänge an. Sie lernen innerhalb von vier Semestern, wissenschaftliche Fragestellungen aus Ihrem Masterfach mit den einschlägigen Methoden selbständig zu bearbeiten, Lösungen zu entwickeln und Ihr Wissen in komplexen Situationen anzuwenden. Masterprogramme bieten oftmals viel Freiraum in der Gestaltung des Studienplans. Sie haben außerdem die Möglichkeit, ein Semester im Ausland zu studieren.

Wir bieten folgende Masterstudiengänge an:

  • M.Sc. Informatik

    Dieser Masterstudiengang bietet Ihnen viele verschiedene Vertiefungslinien an, aus denen Sie zwei wählen müssen. Das Angebot der Vertiefungslinien reicht von Datenbanken, Informationssystemen, Anwendungs- oder Rechnerarchitektur, Intelligente oder Parallele Systeme, Sprachverarbeitung, Theoretische Informatik bis hin zur Visualisierung. In diesen Fächern erhalten Sie dann eine sehr forschungsorientierte Ausbildung und ergänzen diese durch verschiedene Wahlmodule.

  • M.Sc. Softwaretechnik

    Wie bereits im Bachelorstudiengang werden auch im Master weiterhin der konstruktive Aspekt und die praktischen Seiten der Informatik betont. Insbesondere werden durch eine Prozessanalyse und ein Entwicklungsprojekt Teamarbeit und Anwendung des Erlernten gefördert. Damit werden Absolventen direkt und umfassend auf einen Beruf in der Softwareentwicklung und -bearbeitung vorbereitet. Durch die Freiräume in der Vertiefungslinie und in den Wahlfächern können je nach Interesse eigene Schwerpunkte gesetzt werden.

  • M.Sc. Computer Science

    Der Masterstudiengang Computer Science ist einer unserer englischsprachigen Studiengänge. Die Inhalte orientieren sich am deutschsprachigen Masterstudiengang Informatik, aber durch die englische Sprache  ist dieser Studiengang prädestiniert für internationale Studierende. Der Studiengang bietet drei Studienprofile an: Autonomous Systems, Service Technology and Engineering sowie Visual Computing. Innerhalb dieser Bereiche werden Pflicht- und Wahlveranstaltungen angeboten, die die Grundausbildung eines Bachelors deutlich erweitern und auf die Anforderungen in der Industrie und auch in der Forschung vorbereiten.

  • M.Sc. Computational Linguistics

    Dieser ebenfalls englischsprachige Master baut auf dem Bachelor Maschinelle Sprachverarbeitung auf und vertieft die Kenntnisse des Faches. Die Studierenden beschäftigen sich mit dem Aufbau natürlicher Sprachen vom syntaktischen, semantischen, morphologischen und phonetischen Standpunkt aus und versuchen, die gewonnenen Erkenntnisse für die Entwicklung neuer Problemlösungsstrategien im Bereich der Sprachverarbeitung einzusetzen.

  • M.Sc. Information Technology

    Dieser englischsprachige Studiengang ist ein Hybrid. Er wird von beiden Fachbereichen der Fakultät 5, dem Fachbereich Elektro- und Informationstechnik und dem Fachbereich Informatik und Softwaretechnik gemeinsam angeboten. Im Unterschied zum Masterstudiengang Computer Science legt man hier Wert auf die Kombination von elektrotechnischem und informatischem Wissen.

Informationen zu unseren Bachelorstudiengängen finden Sie hier.